Lade Events
© Wolfram Scheible

Meet the Max Planck-Humboldt award and Medal winners 2021 and 2022

Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung | Vanessa Ogle, Wim Decock, Margaret Roberts, Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Anastassia Alexandrova, Sumit Gulwani

Listen to groundbreaking science

The Max Planck-Humboldt Award and Medal Winners 2021 and 2022 will talk to us about their innovative and exceptional research work. They will give us insights into a broad spectrum of scientific work ranging from two-dimensional quantum materials to studies on censorship and disinformation.

From 10.30 am to lunchtime we will concentrate on the human sciences and start with a talk of the medalist and historian Vanessa Ogle about offshore tax havens. Medalist and historian Wim Decock will follow with his pioneering insights on Max Weber, legal and economic history and theology. The session will end with the award winner Molly Roberts who will talk about the very topical issue of transparency in content moderation.

Starting at 2 pm it’s all about chemistry, physics and technology. We will start with a presentation of the award winner and physicist Pablo Jarillo-Herrero on moiré quantum matter. Medalist and chemist Anastassia Alexandrova will then captivate us with her talk about a highly dynamic beast to tame, namely the catalyst. Last but not least, the medalist and computer scientist Sumit Gulwani will let us know his insights into artificial intelligence-assisted programming.

Andreas Kleinschmidt and Adam Levy (known as „ClimateAdam“) will lead through the program.

Each talk will take about 15 minutes. Afterwards the audience will have roughly 20 minutes to interact with the speakers.



This is an in-person event. No registration is required.

Zur Übersicht
Über den Veranstaltungsort
Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung
Lentzeallee 94
Berlin, 14195 Germany

Vanessa Ogle


Vanessa Ogle will receive the Max Planck-Humboldt Medal 2022. Vanessa, Associate Professor of History at Yale University, has created a completely new understanding of how the concept of time has changed over 80 years against the backdrop of economic and social changes with her book “The Global Transformation of Time: 1870–1950”.

Wim Decock


Wim Decock will receive the Max Planck-Humboldt Medal 2022. The professor of Roman law, legal history and comparative law at the Universities of Louvain-la-Neuve and Liége, Belgium, is considered one of the leading historians of his generation in the field of law and late scholasticism.

Imprint Copyright David Ausserhofer


Margaret Roberts


The Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award 2022 goes to political scientist Margaret Roberts from the University of California San Diego. In her research, she has uncovered how the Chinese state uses information technologies for censorship. In collaboration with the Technical University of Munich and the University of Konstanz, she plans to analyze the opaque moderation procedures of social media platforms.

Imprint Copyright David Ausserhofer

Pablo Jarillo-Herrero


The Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award 2021 will go to Pablo Jarillo-Herrero for his work on two-dimensional quantum materials. The physicist from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) discovered intriguing quantum mechanical effects in stacked layers of graphene or similar materials.

Imprint Copyright MIT Physics

Anastassia Alexandrova


This 2021 Max Planck-Humboldt Medal will be awarded to Anastassia Alexandrova from the University of California, Los Angeles. Among other things, the chemist has developed methods that simulate how a catalyst behaves during a chemical reaction, which structures mediate between the reaction partners in detail, and how the reaction conditions, such as temperature, pressure and concentration of the starting materials, influence the states of the catalyst and this interaction.

Imprint Copyright Reed Hutchinson / UCLA

Sumit Gulwani


Sumit Gulwani, scientist at Microsoft Research in Redmond, will receive the Max Planck-Humboldt Medal 2021. With a background in program analysis and artificial intelligence, he shaped the field of program synthesis, which emerged around 2010. The computer scientist developed algorithms that can efficiently generate computer programs from very few input-output examples, natural-language-based specification, or from just the code and data context.

Imprint Copyright Microsoft

Siehe alle Speaker

More Events

All Events